Works: Nikima Jagudajev

Nikima Jagudajev

Basically

Basically is an ongoing live project by Nikima Jagudajev. It is a process based body of work that transforms with each iteration. It has taken the form of a two day durational performance, a recording studio, a residency, a schoolyard, a picnic on the beach and a six month exhibition. With each invitation, not only does the context change but so does the content as new collaborators with new input are invited into the process. Jagudajev is interested in social forms; social relations as spatial relations and how we assemble in fulfilling and considerate ways. They call their process based collaborative practice re-schooling, coming together and sharing devotions. A reconstruction of what so many of us—some more than others—were deprived of as children: the laughter that fills the halls between classes, locker decorations and secrets underneath the bleachers. Re-schooling requires the input of many artistic practitioners, sharing with one another their most impassioned selves, sewing relational threads, building strong bonds with themselves and others.

Harnessing the choreography of play as a framework, performers (Conduit) and visitors (Arrivor) are incorporated into an open-ended game. World building is aided by a group of artists who shape the playground with elements such as live music and ableton soundscapes, food, a deck of collectable cards called POWDER, Arcane Clothing, “crits” – art class critique turned oracle – nonlinear dance choreographies that fold in on themselves and unscheduled time that leaves room for contingency. These elements work as informal invitations to engage in different ways, shifting attention and offering agency and ontological transformation. This mythopoeic world is both serious and playful, enchanted with meaning and full of mods. One’s experience is determined by the games’ formal properties as well as the interaction of various interpreting subjectivities. Performers and visitors share this slippery universe, making and remaking the environment; a sociality of difference.

Listen to the Basically album on Spotify. Released in 2022, it was featured on Salt Peanuts and Christina Vantzou’s Boomkat 2021, with Basically as her #7 pick of the year.

Watch a video of Basically in Shedhalle Zürich here.

Collaborators: The Class of the 21st Century (see credits below)

Credits

The Class of the 21st Century: Creation, direction & choreography: Nikima Jagudajev Musical collaboration and technical direction: Jordan Balaber & Lester St. Louis Dramaturgy: Louise Trueheart Dance: Laurel Atwell, Samuel Baidoo,, Laura Stellacci, Amina Szecsödy, Gry Tingskog, Ellen Söderhult, Ama Kyei, Mona Namér, Matilda Cobanli, Lara Dâmaso, Emmanuel Diela Nkita, Ezra Fieremans, Louise Trueheart, Ikenna Nwaogu, Shelmith Øseth, Alexandra Tveit, Marie Ursin Music performance & movement: Amina Szecsödy, Bård Aarvik, Jordan Balaber, Lara Dâmaso, Ezra Fieremans, MIMI, Ashley Morgen, Salomon Leonard Poutsma, Julie Silset, Lester St. Louis Textile Design: Laura Stellacci Magnus Håland Sunde Textile Assistance: Gry Tingskog, Mona Namér Videography: Salomon Leonard Poutsma Video editing: Saye Oyama, Salomon Leonard Poutsma Musical contribution: Amina Szecsödy, Ellen Söderhult, Mona Namér, June Jenkins Photography: Stine Sampers Graphic Design Laurel Atwell, Zöe Field Powder deck contribution: Ayomoy Arrono, Laurel Atwell, Sanne Dodier, Nina Emge, Olivia Erlanger, Che Go Eun, Zoë Field, Polina Filipova, Padyn Humble, Melanie Matthieu, Abigail McNamara, Saye Oyama, Salomon Leonard Poutsma, Ra Tack, nick von kleist (nvk), Maïra Villena, Petra Webb, Amalia Wiatr Lewis Mix and Master: Chris Pawlusek Production: Hiros Residencies: Decoratelier, kunstenfestivaldesarts2021, workspacebrussels, Frankfurt LAB, Im_Flieger, KAAP, Srihatta – Samdani Art Center and Sculpture Park Partners: Bergen Kunsthall, WIELS, Centre Pompidou, Dhaka Art Summit, Mumok, Oktoberdans, BIT Teatergarasjen, Shedhalle Zürich, de Brakke Grond With support from: workspacebrussels, Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, C-Takt, Phileas – The Austrian Office for Contemporary Art, Re-imagine Europe, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie

Works: Nikima Jagudajev

Nikima Jagudajev

Basically

Basically est un projet live en cours de Nikima Jagudajev. Il s’agit d’une création basée sur un processus ui se transforme à chaque itération. Il a pris la forme d’une performance de deux jours, d’un studio de production, d’une résidence, d’une cour d’école, d’un pique-nique sur la plage et d’une exposition de six mois. À chaque invitation, non seulement le contexte change, mais aussi le contenu, car de nouveaux collaborateurs sont invités à participer au processus. Jagudajev s’intéresse aux formes sociales, aux relations sociales en tant que relations spatiales et à la manière dont nous nous assemblons de manière satisfaisante et réfléchie. Jagudajev appelle leur pratique collaborative basée sur le processus « re-schooling », le fait de se réunir et de partager des dévotions. Une reconstitution de ce dont tant d’entre nous – et certains plus que d’autres – furent privés dans leur enfance : les rires qui fusent dans les couloirs entre deux cours, les casiers décorés et les confidences sous les gradins. La rescolarisation implique la participation de nombreux praticiens artistiques, qui partagent ensemble leur identité la plus passionnée, cousant des fils relationnels, tissant des liens solides avec eux-mêmes et avec les autres.

En utilisant la chorégraphie du jeu comme cadre, les artistes (Conduit) et les visiteurs (Arrivor) sont incorporés dans un jeu ouvert. La construction du monde est facilitée par un groupe d’artistes qui façonnent le terrain de jeu avec des éléments tels que de la musique live et des ambiances sonores ableton, de la nourriture, un jeu de cartes à collectionner appelé POWDER, Arcane Clothing, des « crits » – critique de classe d’art transformée en oracle – des chorégraphies de danse non linéaires qui se replient sur elles-mêmes et un temps non programmé qui laisse de la place à la contingence. Ces éléments fonctionnent comme des invitations informelles à s’engager de différentes manières, en déplaçant l’attention et en offrant une agence et une transformation ontologique. Ce monde mythopoétique est à la fois sérieux et ludique, enchanté de sens et plein de mods. L’expérience de chacun est déterminée par les propriétés formelles des jeux ainsi que par l’interaction de diverses subjectivités interprétatives. Les artistes et les visiteurs partagent cet univers glissant, faisant et refaisant l’environnement ; une socialité de la différence.

Écoutez l’album Basically sur Spotify. Sorti en 2022, l’album a figuré sur Salt Peanuts et le Boomkat 2021 de Christina Vantzou, dont Basically est le 7e choix de l’année.

Visionnez une vidéo de Basically à Shedhalle Zürich ici

Collaborateurs : The Class of the 21st Century 

Crédits

The Class of the 21st Century: Creation, direction & choreography: Nikima Jagudajev Musical collaboration and technical direction: Jordan Balaber & Lester St. Louis Dramaturgy: Louise Trueheart Dance: Laurel Atwell, Samuel Baidoo, Laura Stellacci, Amina Szecsödy, Gry Tingskog, Ellen Söderhult, Ama Kyei, Mona Namér, Matilda Cobanli, Lara Dâmaso, Emmanuel Diela Nkita, Ezra Fieremans, Louise Trueheart, Ikenna Nwaogu, Shelmith Øseth, Alexandra Tveit, Marie Ursin Music performance & movement: Amina Szecsödy, Bård Aarvik, Jordan Balaber, Lara Dâmaso, Ezra Fieremans, MIMI, Ashley Morgen, Salomon Leonard Poutsma, Julie Silset, Lester St. Louis Textile Design: Laura Stellacci Magnus Håland Sunde Textile Assistance: Gry Tingskog, Mona Namér Videography: Salomon Leonard Poutsma Video editing: Saye Oyama, Salomon Leonard Poutsma Musical contribution: Amina Szecsödy, Ellen Söderhult, Mona Namér, June Jenkins Photography: Stine Sampers Graphic Design Laurel Atwell, Zöe Field Powder deck contribution: Ayomoy Arrono, Laurel Atwell, Sanne Dodier, Nina Emge, Olivia Erlanger, Che Go Eun, Zoë Field, Polina Filipova, Padyn Humble, Melanie Matthieu, Abigail McNamara, Saye Oyama, Salomon Leonard Poutsma, Ra Tack, nick von kleist (nvk), Maïra Villena, Petra Webb, Amalia Wiatr Lewis Mix and Master: Chris Pawlusek Production: Hiros Residencies: Decoratelier, kunstenfestivaldesarts2021, workspacebrussels, Frankfurt LAB, Im_Flieger, KAAP, Srihatta – Samdani Art Center and Sculpture Park Partners: Bergen Kunsthall, WIELS, Centre Pompidou, Dhaka Art Summit, Mumok, Oktoberdans, BIT Teatergarasjen, Shedhalle Zürich, de Brakke Grond With support from: workspacebrussels, Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, C-Takt, Phileas – The Austrian Office for Contemporary Art, Re-imagine Europe, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie